Museum of Lancashire
Stanley Street, Preston PR1 4YP
10.30am to 5pm
Closed Thursdays, Sunday and Bank holidays
The Museum is housed in the Grade II listed former Preston Quarter Sessions House building. Built between 1825 and 1828 this building replaced the earlier courthouse situated within the neighbouring House of Correction. This building was felt to be too small and so on the 9th September 1824 justices decided to spend £10,000 building a new court house outside of the walls of the prison. The Birmingham company Rickman and Hutchison, were employed to design and build the court house. The building opened in 1828 but was not fully completed until the following year. A great venue to explore.
Tel: (+44) 01772 534075
Fax: (+44) 01772 534079